News center
Top-notch quality and personalized customer care

Governor DeWine Awards $1.67 Million for First Responder Wellness

Jul 23, 2023

(COLUMBUS, Ohio) – Ohio Governor Mike DeWine today announced the first round of funding to be awarded to local first responder agencies as part of the new Ohio First Responder Recruitment, Retention, and Resilience Program.

A total of 26 agencies will receive $1.67 million to help them support the wellness needs of law enforcement officers, dispatchers, firefighters, paramedics, and emergency medical technicians (EMTs).

"Our first responders face the daily challenge of providing the highest level of response and care to Ohioans during traumatic circumstances, having little to no time to effectively process the stress brought on by these situations," said Governor DeWine. "We created this grant program to help our first responders take care of themselves so that they can continue taking care of others."

Entities receiving grant funding as part of the first round of the Ohio First Responder Recruitment, Retention, and Resilience Program are as follows:

The Ohio First Responder Recruitment, Retention, and Resilience Program, administered by the Ohio Emergency Management Agency, is offering a total of approximately $75 million in funding for initiatives that support wellness programs addressing mental, physical, and emotional health issues unique to first responders; recruitment and retention efforts to restore workforce levels; onboarding and training costs; and explorer programs to engage young adults about first responder careers. Although this is the first round of funding to be awarded to local first responder agencies as part of this program, approximately $1.3 million was awarded to several statewide service providers in June.

The program is funded as part of the $250 million in American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) funding that Governor DeWine and the Ohio General Assembly dedicated to first responders last year to help counter various pressing issues exacerbated by the COVID-19 pandemic, including increased stress and decreased staffing levels.

Governor DeWine has also placed enhanced focus on the wellness of first responders through the creation of the Ohio Office of First Responder Wellness within the Ohio Department of Public Safety. The new statewide office focuses exclusively on the well-being of first responders and provides specialized support and training to help emergency-response agencies proactively address post-traumatic stress and other traumas caused by factors that are unique to first-responder careers.

Other assistance for first responders developed by Governor DeWine since taking office in 2019 includes the creation of the Ohio Narcotics Intelligence Center, Ohio School Safety Center, Ohio Office of Law Enforcement Recruitment, Ohio Prisoner Extradition Reimbursement Program, Ohio Body-Worn Camera Grant Program, Ohio Ballistics Testing Initiative, Ohio Crime Lab Efficiency Program, Ohio Violent Crime Reduction Grant Program, Ohio Court Backlog Reduction Program, and the new eWarrant database.

Beachwood Police Department (Cuyahoga County): $29,750 Beavercreek Police Department (Greene County): $23,629 Bellefontaine Police Department (Logan County): $119,420 Brecksville Police & Fire Departments (Cuyahoga County): $14,800 Canton Police Department (Stark County): $124,400 Cleveland Department of Public Safety (Cuyahoga County): $310,000 Defiance County 911 Center: $25,000 Delaware Police Department (Delaware County): $34,800 Eagle Joint Fire District (Trumbull County): $1,974 Grove City Division of Police (Franklin County): $12,400 Hicksville Police Department (Defiance County): $8,300 Huron County Sheriff's Office: $63,172.04 Logan Police Department (Hocking County): $20,293.54 Lucas County Sheriff's Office: $38,720 Mayfield Village Police & Fire Departments (Cuyahoga County): $173,340.40 Miami Township Fire & EMS (Clermont County): $220,000 Montville Township Police Department (Medina County): $13,898.75 Pierce Township Police Department (Clermont County): $12,537.44 Pleasant Valley Joint Fire District (Union County): $45,050 Scioto County Sheriff's Office $272,537.24 Sheffield Village Police Department (Lorain County): $19,500 Sidney Police Department (Shelby County): $22,000 Springboro Division of Police (Warren County): $11,664 St. Clairsville Police Department (Belmont County): $5,200 Vandalia Division of Police (Montgomery County): $13,000 Youngstown Police Department (Mahoning County): $36,000